I have a love-hate relationship with being sick. I love that I have an excuse to sit around and binge watch HGTV. I hate not feeling good – obviously.

But this time was very, very different. See, my husband and I have 1 year old twins. And in their first year of life, I’ve only been away from them for a few hours at a time. And mostly while they were asleep.

I’ve been very fortunate to not have gotten sick in their first year. And when I finally did get sick, I didn’t get out of bed for two days. So, I still loved an excuse to lay in bed, but I hated that I needed to be away from my babies – especially because they wanted to be with me.

But my husband was the best! Juggling both kids, me, and his work – like a rock star.

The reason I’m writing this post is not just to brag on my husband. Although, that should be done more. But because not even three days before I got sick, I was being mean. Judgemental. Ungrateful. {And many more adjectives, but we don’t have time for that.} All because I didn’t think this wonderful guy that I married was pulling his weight.

I think what actually happened, when I got sick, was I got a much needed attitude adjustment. Something to take me out of my funk of believing the lie that he wasn’t doing the best he can. I wasn’t taking into consideration all that he was dealing with.

Because we are all human. We all have bad days. We have to take the good with the bad. That’s life. That’s marriage. That’s raising kids.

I was also reminded that I needed to do a little more for myself. Eat better. Sleep more. Sometimes, take care of me, first. Because when you’re not taking care of yourself, you can’t be your best you for your littles!!

www-pinterest-com
Pinterest.com

What about you – have you ever started to believe the lies that your head comes up with? And how did you get out of your funk?

